Harrison Clarke
Tenor Saxophone

Hailing from Austin, Texas, Harrison Clarke is an active saxophonist and is currently pursuing a Doctor of Musical Arts degree in Saxophone Performance at the University of Georgia, where he is a graduate teaching assistant. He also holds a Masters degree in Performance and Literature from the Eastman School of Music, where he also served as a graduate teaching assistant, and a Bachelor’s degree with high honors in Music Performance from the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music.

Harrison’s musical ambition has taken him to all parts of the world. He has performed in competitions in the United States and Europe, and has toured in China as a member of the Eastman Saxophone Project. He was awarded the silver medal in the 2017 Young Texas Artists Music Competition and was also awarded 3rd prize of the 2013 Vandoren Emerging Artists Competition. Other competitions he has performed in include the 2014 Adolphe Sax International Competition in Dinant, Belgium, and the 2014 North American Saxophone Alliance Solo Competition.

As a chamber musician, Harrison is the tenor saxophonist of the Fuego Quartet, who formed at the Eastman School of Music in 2015. Fuego Quartet has won top prizes at some of the nation’s most notable competitions including the Gold Medal at the Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition, 1st Prize at the Plowman Chamber Music Competition, and 2nd Prize at the MTNA National Chamber Music Competition. Fuego Quartet also was awarded the John Celentano Award for Excellence in Chamber Music, Eastman’s most coveted chamber music prize.

While attending Indiana University, Harrison achieved numerous awards and scholarships. He was a recipient of the Marcel Mule Scholarship, an award created by Eugene Rousseau that is given to an outstanding undergraduate in classical saxophone. He was also a Founders Scholar for sustained academic excellence and a Friends of Music Scholarship recipient. In his third year at Indiana University, Harrison was awarded the Performer’s Certificate, the highest award given to a performer by the Jacobs School of Music. His teachers include Connie Frigo, Chien-Kwan Lin, Otis Murphy, Todd Oxford, Ben Essick, and James Chandler.

Contact Us

Like a song? Have a request? Feel free to drop us a line and we will get back to you as soon as possible.